squirrelspeaks

Friday, September 08, 2006

Heights!

INDIAN ECONOMIC POLICIES!!! :(

I guess being online for an awful lot of time has really spoiled the way I speak and write. I've almost forgotten the formal way of writing. The amount of fillers and the slang words I use are endless and don't make sense most of the time.

If you are wondering about the first sentence of my post, well this is what happened:

It was our Economics class at college and all of us were already dozing off. Our lecturer enters the class and asks us to take notes on the topic Indian Economic Policies. I actually took out my book and wrote "INDIAN ECONOMIC POLICIES!!:(" My friend looked at what I had written and "almost" burst out laughing. But you just can't laugh or yawn or even turn your head in that class because of the obvious reason that you'll get screwed. But my friend wanted to tell me desperately that what I had just done was damn funny. So she just turned to me for a second and said "lol"!!!! Now isn't that heights??

This happened in one of my Law classes. The prof. dictated the line "Salary means last drawn salary or wages. On completion of service, if it has been more than six months, it is considered as 1 year. The maximum gratuity payable is Rs.3,50,000". And guess how I ended up wrting it?

"Sal mns lst drawn sal/wages. on comp of ser, if 'tis bin mre than 6mts,
'tis cons as 1yr. da max grat pble is 350,000 bucks"


I've also started using loads of fillers in my conversation. If I really don't know how to react to a statement or anything, I just say "Heights". You, for that matter even I, just can't make sense out of it but I'm just satisfied that I've responded. One more of my irritating fillers is to suffix "of India" to any word or sentence. As usual, this doesn't make sense half the time.

My cousin got married recently and has settled in the US of A because her husband works there. Before the wedding was to take place, I wanted to know if she would go to USA and I asked my mom "Will Ramya be going to America of India after the wedding?". All my mom did was give me a bewildered look. And when I told my friends about this, their unanimous reaction was "Heights, man!!" Lol! :D

7 Comments:

  • america of india ?

    lol

    By Blogger Soupsticks - supriya, at 11:52 PM  

  • bhagi.. wats wrong with you?? :S am worried man!!
    still i think thats the state of everyone in law class i guess..
    cant help it yaar!! :)

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 11:56 AM  

  • we're all on d same boat gurl.. our literally skills are in the toilet..

    lets not fret over it.. lets take it in our stride.. and rejoice.. who knows our broken english might help us @ some point in our lives.. :p

    By Blogger Gayatri Bhadran, at 2:49 PM  

  • @ mathangi: u r right! we'll able to relate better to this :)
    @ gayatri: I'm hoping so too!!

    By Blogger Ahem, at 3:15 PM  

  • hey bhags !
    well one thing tht i have started usin these days is "super cool!" .. thanks to u .. lols !

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 4:06 PM  

  • hey bhaggs!
    I can relate to such moments...
    I keep saying things like that!
    one of my most recent blabs was during the shooting of our video documentary! I said "..... video was interviewed earlier!" instead of "interview was viewed earlier" didn't realise for quite awhile actually!! :D

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 1:41 AM  

  • @uma: guess dats wat happens wen u get to sleep for less than 5hrs a day!!

    By Blogger Ahem, at 1:45 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home