squirrelspeaks

Saturday, September 16, 2006

Busy yet Vetti!!

Well, to be frank I haven't done anything useful this week, though I actually had loads of work to be done.
1. Was supposed to finish a working model of rainwater harvesting, but didn't contribute one bit to it
2. Was supposed to submit a CD containing the PPT presentation of our EVS project, but managed to give an excuse and extended the deadline :P
3. Was supposed to collect info for a paper presentation but didn't contribute even one line for it (its a different thing that my friend finished it and even submitted the paper!!!)
4. Was supposed to finish studying Consumer Protection Act, but haven't even started with it
5. Supposed to get a gift for my friend who is turning 19 tomorrow, but still haven't gotten her one :(
6. Still haven't gotten any new clothes/stuff for my B'day (and there's just 2 days left for it!!)
Only difference, this time I hate myself for being so much of a lazy bum!!

Friday, September 08, 2006

Heights!

INDIAN ECONOMIC POLICIES!!! :(

I guess being online for an awful lot of time has really spoiled the way I speak and write. I've almost forgotten the formal way of writing. The amount of fillers and the slang words I use are endless and don't make sense most of the time.

If you are wondering about the first sentence of my post, well this is what happened:

It was our Economics class at college and all of us were already dozing off. Our lecturer enters the class and asks us to take notes on the topic Indian Economic Policies. I actually took out my book and wrote "INDIAN ECONOMIC POLICIES!!:(" My friend looked at what I had written and "almost" burst out laughing. But you just can't laugh or yawn or even turn your head in that class because of the obvious reason that you'll get screwed. But my friend wanted to tell me desperately that what I had just done was damn funny. So she just turned to me for a second and said "lol"!!!! Now isn't that heights??

This happened in one of my Law classes. The prof. dictated the line "Salary means last drawn salary or wages. On completion of service, if it has been more than six months, it is considered as 1 year. The maximum gratuity payable is Rs.3,50,000". And guess how I ended up wrting it?

"Sal mns lst drawn sal/wages. on comp of ser, if 'tis bin mre than 6mts,
'tis cons as 1yr. da max grat pble is 350,000 bucks"


I've also started using loads of fillers in my conversation. If I really don't know how to react to a statement or anything, I just say "Heights". You, for that matter even I, just can't make sense out of it but I'm just satisfied that I've responded. One more of my irritating fillers is to suffix "of India" to any word or sentence. As usual, this doesn't make sense half the time.

My cousin got married recently and has settled in the US of A because her husband works there. Before the wedding was to take place, I wanted to know if she would go to USA and I asked my mom "Will Ramya be going to America of India after the wedding?". All my mom did was give me a bewildered look. And when I told my friends about this, their unanimous reaction was "Heights, man!!" Lol! :D

Friday, July 14, 2006

BINGO!!

So finally I'm back after a hiatus. Well, you see, I was just taking time to prove that I really am a lazy bum ;) Well, there are actually reasons for me not being able post anything for quite sometime....

Firstly, my college takes pleasure in screwing its students by asking us to do a project related to all the papers that we are having this sem. So all these days, I was stuck with doing my Economics project which was a real pain in the neck (literally and figuratively because we had to spend a week in front of the computer searching for information).

Then comes the news that the results for my CA exams are going to be out in a fortnight!! And that was it. My stomach went hollow with fear and the feeling was horrible because this was the first time I was scared of exams and their result. Till that moment, I was never scared of exams and results. Never in my life!! So this new, creepy feeling that I'm not going to clear the exam was giving me nightmares and the mental agony I was suffering was inexplicable(um... ok! maybe I'm over reacting!! but I was honestly scared! ) So that explains why I was taking a long break.

And finally the day comes. My results are announced! And Bingo!!! I've made it!! I've passed!! The feeling was blissful. I was literally jumping with joy. Then the phone calls pour in to congratulate me. My friends' reactions were ranging from "Hey! Congrats!" to "Machaan! awesome!That was BLOODY COOL!" Then I tell my sis that I passed and she says "Are you sure? check it up once again.Maybe that's not YOUR roll no. that you typed!!"Typical sibling reaction!! :P

And now I'm all elated that I cleared my exams.

And lo! My college has also given us an off today!!(Not for me passing, but for different reasons ;))Now! Now! Ain't my college sweet enough to give us time for partying? :D

Tuesday, June 06, 2006

End Of Hols And I'm Really Happy!

Finally my summer "vacation" is coming to an end. And this time for a change I'm really happy about this. Now just don't think that I'm missing my college so much that I hate vacation.No way! I've unfolded the real reason below and you'll know the reason for me writing the first line.

Every time when I realise that my so called holidays are coming to an end, laziness creeps into me and starts ruling me full time which of course drives my mom really mad and then she starts yelling at me "Eppo paathaalum thoonginde irukkadha, somberi" which translates to "Don't keep sleeping all the time, you lazy bum!" and other things too but censored for the sake of maintaining my reputation and decency.

Now getting to the part why I'm happy about my holidays coming to an end. All these years,i.e when I was in school, I just couldn't get enough out of my summer hols. And that's how I felt even when my college announced the summer hols. It was really cool to hear that we were going to get 2 complete months of hols. I didn't get so much even when I was in school. And the first thought in my mind was "Hah!Now that's life!" And then started my super cool planning for the hols and I was pretty surprised to see how fast my mind was actually working. (Sorry! Never worked this fast during exams)

And my super cool plans were dashed straight away when the lecturer reminded us that we have to complete one month internship training with any firm that is related to our branch of study :(:( And that was it. Five whole minutes of calculated planning just down the drain!!

I just cursed- guess its too mild a word- ok!swore at every living person I knew. But what's the point? My hols were ruined and the damage was done!

In my first month of holidays, all I had to do (had to do? who am I kidding? Allowed to do would be perfect!) was sit and study for my CA exams that were coming up.Poof! ONE FULL MONTH of hols wasted :( Yes! wasted indeed because my exams were baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad!!!

And the 2nd month of my "Hols" just started and I was already praying for the end of the month to come. Now looking at my real sad condition, my mom comes and says "Oh poor thing! Why don't you take a break for few days and then start your internship?" And I literally grabbed her idea and before I could fully enjoy my break, 'twas over. Alas! I had to start my internship and there was absolutely no way out.

Now, just one more week for my training to get completed and thats exactly when my "Summer vacation" ends too. So this makes it obvious as to why I'm just waiting for my "hols" (Sorry if the usage of " is pissing you off. Just can't help the sarcasm!) to get over. The worst part is, my stint with the "holiday-spoiler internship" does'nt stop here. A few days after coll re-opens, I'm supposed to prepare a full length report (that runs to 50 pages!) on what I did in my training.Now beat this!!!!

Sunday, June 04, 2006

Make way for me!

After so many months of persuasion and some days of procrastination, here I am, another buddy in the blog world absolutely wanting to share my ideas and feelings!

All these months, my sister was right at my back nagging me to start a blog. Ya! Like its an easy thing to do, especially for someone like me who's been branded as the unbeatable lazy bum ever?!!

But here I am, the Squirrel, out of its cozy burrow, to try my hand at something which absolutely involves some activity. So let me see how good I'm gonna be at this. And if u are still wondering what is so hoyden about this post, well....... u'll see many of them in the coming ones.